Rhyl Station Branch officials

Chairman:   Dave Simmons

In 1969 Dave was a member of the Junior Fundraisers organisation, when they came to the station to have a fundraising meeting. During the meeting the Lifeboat was called out, after seeing that there was a shortage of shore crewmembers, Dave asked if he could help recovering the Lifeboat, which the Operations Manager at the time gladly accepted. Dave joined the station the same year and eventually became a crew member on both the Inshore and All Weather boats. Dave left the crew in 1993 due to work commitments but always kept a keen interest in events at the station. From 2012 to 2017 Dave was a Rhyl Town & Denbighshire County Councillor. Due to his interest in the station he was asked to become the stations Vice Chairman in 2012 as the Chairman at the time, Eric Davies BEM was unable to undertake his duties due to illness. When Eric sadly passed away Dave became chairman of Rhyl Lifeboat Station. In this role he represents the station at events and chairs the Rhyl Lifeboat Station Management Committee which oversees all aspects of how the station is run, he also attends other organising committees including the Operations Committee.

Deputy Chairman: Cllr Peter Prendergast

Peter is councillor for Rhyl town council and Denbighshire County council. He is a former Mayor and is very active in fundraising, being a participant in the station’s Shannon appeal, which raised over £160K in 9 months. He was elected in 2019 to be Deputy Chair.


Lifeboat Operations Manager: Darrel Crowther (Collecting boxes Prestatyn area)

Darrel joined the crew in 1996 as a crew member on both the Inshore Lifeboat and the All Weather Lifeboat. After retiring off the Inshore boat due to age restrictions Darrel continued as a crew member and navigator on the All Weather boat. 
In 2008 Darrel decided to step down as sea going crew member to take over Lifeboat Operations Manger from Ray Coltman who was retiring. As Lifeboat Operations Manager Darrel oversees all aspects of running the station. The LOM is also the stations main liaison with HM Coastguard. In an emergency the Coastguard decide what search and rescue asset is best suited to perform the task needed, if they decide that they want one of Rhyl’s Lifeboat’s to launch they have to call the LOM and ask his permission the set the crews pagers off and launch the boat. Using his local knowledge the LOM can recommend other actions to be taken. For instance our co-ordinating Coastguard is in Holyhead and their weather can be quiet different to Rhyl, if they request that the Inshore boat should be launched, the LOM could recommend the All Weather Lifeboat launching instead due to the local weather conditions.
Darrel also attends many events and meetings representing the station and the crew.

Treasurer:  William Newton


Bill is the treasurer for the Rhyl lifeboat station, and ensures all accounts are up-to-date and balanced, and is the Institution’s representative on financial matters. He has been in post since 1985, making sure all the station’s bills and invoices are paid. He can also be seen helping out at various fundraising events locally.



Deputy Launching Authorities: 

Peter Robinson

Peter joined the crew in 1989 as a crew member on both the Inshore Lifeboat & the All Weather Lifeboat. In 1994 Peter became 2nd Coxswain, after both Coxswain Bruce Herbert BEM & 2nd Coxswain Donny Archer-Jones retired around the same time. Peter was made Coxswain of the station in 1996. During this time Rhyl was the busiest Lifeboat Station in Wales for a number of years. He was in this position for 14 years until 2010. Peter then spent three years as shore crew and helped to train crew members. After again reaching the retirement age for sea going crew, Peter took up the role of Deputy Launching Authority, and still is active in crew training.


Deputy Launch Authority, Lifeboat Administration Officer & Lifeboat Press Officer: 

Paul Frost MBE.

‘Frosty’ is yet another crew member to come from a family of RNLI
supporters since 1967. He is RNLI through to his bones and a fountain of
knowledge about all things RNLI! In 2011 he was awarded the MBE for
services to the RNLI by HM the Queen. Paul retired from sea-going duties in
December 2019. He is the station Press Officer and Administration officer.
Paul also became a deputy launch authority on 1st September 2020.



Boathouse manager and  Deputy Launch Authority:

Jimmy Quinn


Jimmy retired from sea-going duties in December 2019, as 3rd mechanic,
and relief mechanic at many stations throughout the UK and Ireland.
He is now the boathouse manager, who is responsible for all safety aspects
of the boathouse. He was made Deputy Launch Authority in early 2022.



Deputy Press Officer

Judith Sharp






Judith joined the team as one of the 3 events organisers early 2022. Due to a recent job change, she was able to become deputy press officer with main responsibility for the station’s social media presence, and will deputise for the press officer when that person is away.




Water Safety Officer


Lesley Williams is our Water Safety Officer. Lesley, who runs her own swimming school, has been an avid supporter of Rhyl RNLI for many year.
She has always championed water safety, including helping to deliver Swim Safe courses, teaching school children how to stay safe in and around open water, across the region. Lesley will now spread our key safety messages locally working with local clubs, organisations and others. It is also a family affair with Lesley’s son Andrew Wilde already long serving volunteer Deputy Coxswain at the station.




Assistant Water safety Officer

David Wiggy

Lifeboats Education and visits Officer: Derek Denton (see crew page)

Lifeboat Medical Advisor: Dr. Chris Stockport (see crew page)




President: Mrs. Jean Frost MBE

Jean started in 1967 with the Rhyl lifeboat guild. Her husband Edward was treasurer of the guild.
Up until January 2021 (aged 90) she managed the shop attached to the boathouse.
Jean has been involved in many fundraising events, particularly organising fundraising, selling souvenirs
at the local shopping centre.
Jean remains as President despite stepping down from the front line at the shop.
Jean was awarded the MBE at a ceremony at Buckingham Palace by HRH Prince Charles in 2008. 


Vice-President: Ann Jones, OBE

Ann was previously a member of the Welsh Senedd (Parliament), and was also the speaker of the Senedd.

She retired from politics in 2020.



Chair: Peter Dean (Collecting boxes Prestatyn)

Peter has been associated with Rhyl Lifeboat fundraisers for over 50 years.

He is a life-Governor of the Institution.




Honorary Secretary: Beryl Dean
Treasurer: Peter Dean
Membership Secretary: Ceri Batterbee
Fundraisers Committee
Ted Watson (Collecting Boxes Abergele & Towyn) (volunteer Presenter)
Joan Watson
June Rollinson
Steve Gregory (Collecting boxes Rhyl)
Jan Robinson (Collecting boxes Rhuddlan)
Steve and Vivian Gregory (Collecting Boxes Rhyl and surrounding areas)


Ex- Officio members
Robert Scott
June Lawson

Co-opted members
Cllr Keith Jones


See our Shop page for details of the management team for the retail outlet.